Jones County School System


Georgia Milestones Assessment System

Georgia Milestones (GMAS) measures how well students have learned the knowledge and skills outlined in the state-adopted content standards in English Language Arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.  


Students in grades 3 through 8 take an end-of-grade assessment in English Language Arts and mathematics while students in grades 5 and 8 are also assessed in science and social studies.


High school students take an end-of-course assessment in the following courses: 


·         Ninth Grade Literature and Composition


·         American Literature and Composition


·         Algebra I or Coordinate Algebra


·         Geometry or Analytic Geometry


·         Biology


·         Physical Science


·         United States History


·         Economics/Business/Free Enterprise.


The end-of-course measures are administered at the completion of the course, regardless of the grade level.  These measures serve as the final exam for the course, and contribute 20% to the student’s final course grade. 


The GMAS includes:


§  open-ended (constructed-response) items in English Language Arts and mathematics (all grades and courses);


§  a writing component (in response to passages read by students) at every grade level and course within the English Language Arts assessment;


§  norm-referenced items in all content areas and courses, to complement the criterion-referenced information and to provide a national comparison; and


§  transition to online administration over time, with online administration considered the primary mode of administration and paper-penc‚Äčil as back-up until the transition is complete.


 The Georgia Milestones serves as a key component of the state’s accountability system – the College and Career Ready Performance Index (CCRPI).